into cyber greatness

DIGITAL PROJECT JOURNAL

1-5 April Proposal edit
Just got into reading the project, looking into the requirements of the online tool. I think this project could be amazing.

6-12 April Storyboard build
Using the Module book and the assessment file for Module 5, I pulled apart assessment and workbook and planned to mesh them together to have one space for all learning requirements for Module 5- Kaupane.
I think I have enough activities for the learning to occur.

13-19 April Preliminary design go
Getting into the vision and what I would like it to look like. Been looking into our classroom online and how that looks and trying to see what looks best. I like the idea of the boxes they look more tidy than just headings.

20-26 April Activities
Looking into these and how I might show my point of difference, what makes my learning tool better than other ways? This has me thinking I might have to build something unique….what?

27-30 April Editing final plan
Really happy with my plan, I am going for an A, enjoying this paper and dreaming up a learning tool. Took a lot of time off to complete this end product, happy that this is the best option to reach my target user.

11-15 MAY
I got sick
I caught a viral infection that keep me in bed for a week, I watched the back of my eyelids and slept the most I have ever, something like 36 hours in four days

18-22 MAY
Three children got sick
Bugs have brought our house to a standstill, one child after the next child is sick, coughing and nasty. Will the project ever get looked at? Freaking out slightly about how fast time has slipped away.

28th MAY DUE DATE
Crazy bug and med cert mad
I got sick the week before and my children also got sick, making most of May a bug filled, crazy at home busy environment. Sadly this in turn allowed my project to suffer, hence my late hand in and mission to complete my online learning tool.

1/06 HAND IN IMPLEMENTATION & REFECTION REPORT
Wow, I did it, a bit rough in some places. I would have loved to make it a lot better, but considering I have had sick children, been sick myself, have a full time job and 17 students to look after. I reckon I did pretty well. I thank you Michael for this paper has now shown what my Master’s thesis study will entail; “What is the best online learning model for a Maori learner”

1. What and how you have been learning?
• Wiki Educator source code – I borrowed code from other Wiki sites and tweaked it to my needs.
• How to Sitemap a Wiki Educator successfully – Totally winging it, I made my own navigational bar, thru links.
• Categories and their power – watched YouTube clip that helped me add these.
• How time consuming the adding of content has been – Editing and adding has consumed a lot of time.
• Thinking and making of games to add to learning – found awesome online tools that helped.
• Scanning you tube clips to find links that enhance the learning experience – found short sharp with a great message videos no longer than 3 minutes.

2. changes to the storyboard with reasons
Added Page: Level 3 Computing, this is so I can easily add other Modules to the Level 3 Computing classroom. No boxes were added due to limited code knowledge.

3. Describe your communications process throughout the Project.
Been isolated and alone, with sick children and sick bugs all around me. I have only emailed and attended classes where possible. I have investigated online at other learning tools, time has been a confining factor thru this whole project.

4. Reflect on any ethical issues surrounding your project.
COPYRIGHT – this is a major issue, I only used images I had taken myself, limiting my picture choices. I could just use other peoples images without consent or under ‘creative commons’ but my ethical conscience allowed me to use only my images for the learning tool.

5. Discuss how you have considered accessibility.
I am putting link on our Facebook and Moodle page and even a link in the shared drive G:

6. Technology and Technical Learning
• The code was tough, first time builder in Wiki Educator, I got a bit frustrated, as one space or ‘can change the whole layout, and as a perfectionist this was difficult ending in more hours spent to adjust everything.
• Didn’t know how to build a navigational bar so I made my own one up.

7. Draw a technology map that shows all the digital technology used in your project and how they are related
YouTube – short video
http://www.superteachertools.com – basic game builder
http://www.toondoo.com/ – comic strip builder
http://matchthememory.com/ – match memory game builder

8. Comment on any technical problems and your problem-solving approaches.
Code difficulties, I borrowed from other pages and I watched YouTube clips to teach myself code.
Adding boxes where needed, I could figure this out to my liking. I compromised in design as time was running out. Navigational bar I could not build either, I had copyed one from a wiki page but couldn’t find it when building learning object.

9. Discuss how you have future proofed your project
• Added MAIN Level 3 Computing page, so I can branch off from there.

10. Teaching and Learning effectiveness
Wiki Educator was the ideal space for the learning tool. With the added features of both Activities and content online, added benefits of video I believe this will empower the students even more in how they wish to learn this content.

11. Discuss pedagogical related issues.
• I needed to add more tools to assist in the learning, so I made up a MATCHING MEMORY game, to check if what they are learning is getting in there.
• I needed activities that did not require a printer as my students do not have access to this resource.
• GAMIFICATION would be an avenue I would like to explore more. Looking for more fun games, to help with learning the big complex computer jargon would help the students. I would also like to investigate cartoons and how I could apply a comic strip to assist in the learning.
• BUILD a Computer System 3D online somehow sounds exciting.

12. Show evidence of adherence to the Project plan and comment on any variations.
• Layout for Activities and Resources page still as planned in prototype.
• Unit Standard 5951 page was built with link to website

VARIATIONS:
• The plan has 12 Activities planned, I have added only 10 Activities the last two I felt that it would not assist in the learning objectives.
• ALL boxes shown in the sketches I couldn’t get to come out the way I would have preferred. Only boxes I could find were for the Objectives and Activity.
• Module 5 Kaupane page, changed totally, due to the limited box making on my behalf.
• Added a Level 3 Computing page, to start ALL the learning from one point, and to be able to easily add more Modules on in the near future.

13. Possible improvements and future extensions.
• More Modules unloaded to enhance the other Modules in Level 3 Computing.
• Finish inputting the entire Module 5 onto Wiki Educator

14. Discuss possible improvements.
More time to mess around with code, add more features and activities to enhance learning experience.
Learn how to make pretty boxes and colour them to my own requirements.

Leave a comment